National Geographic Kids

Posted on

National Geographic Kids

Published by the National Geographic Society. Tampa, FL
10 Issues per year.
Ages 6-14


While they claim to publish for children ages 6-14, the visual layout and content suggest that it’s more appropriate for 6 to 10-year-olds. Definitely fun-filled and fast-paced, NGK uses brilliant photography and bright illustrations to teach kids about animals (vast majority of content), science, technology, archaeology, geography, and pop culture. Readers will also be entertained with comics, games, humor and fun facts scattered throughout the pages. NGK encourages children to explore the world, and kids can enter their pictures in monthly contests.
National Geographic Kids can be used for as a source for student research, but is better suited for inspiring exploration and creativity. For example, a science teacher may allow students to browse through some issues, then have students create a classroom magazine with their own articles, stories, photographs, and illustrations.

Website: http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NationalGeographicKids

About Worm

My real name is Jessica. It's a perfectly pleasant and feminine name, but there are too many Jessica's in my generation. When I worked as a camp counselor in Orange County, I was called Worm. It's a very camp-sounding name, and short for Bookworm, as some clever children ascertained. As a youth, I devoured books and stories like the caterpillars attack my tomato plants, so despite grubby connotations, I have become fond of the nickname. This blog is a journal of some of the literature I loved as a child, and other materials for young people that I'm discovering now for the first time. Some are more palatable than others, and they vary in mental nutrients, but my goal is to share this smorgasbord I've discovered with fellow librarians, teachers, and, especially, hungry young worms.

Leave a comment